The will of God?

It’s been a while friends…. so long that my old blog went out of style. So I decided to start this new blog site and I hope you enjoy it!

So much has happened since my  last blog post . Funny thing is that as cool stuff was happening over the past spring and summer, I didn’t think it was anything worth writing about. Life is funny like that. We get so caught up in a routine that we forget to look around and see how awesome that routine is.

And that is why I haven’t been blogging. I’ve been in a routine and gradually became numb to the awesomeness of it. I’m still addicted to spending all day everyday training to be the very best bobsledder that I can be. Although, I have to confess, I’ve let the politics of my bobsled life get the best of me lately. Even the awesomest routines have gloomy days and gloomy seasons. I’m learning that if life isn’t hard, you’re doing something wrong. Life is going to be hard no matter what you choose to do, but it’s how you handle and react to the hard that can change the world.

But maybe I was actually correct earlier, maybe all my awesome adventures really aren’t worth writing about. I’m convinced that it doesn’t really matter so much what you do in life, it’s more about how you do it.

Let me explain, I know so many people who are stressing out about what they are supposed to do with their lives and the decisions they are supposed to make. These people seem to want to know the will of God for their life, but just can’t seem to figure it out. I’ve been there. It’s hard. But what if I told you exactly where you could find the will of God for your life? Would you believe it? Would you be willing to rise up and accept the challenge to live it out?

I believe the Bible is clear. His will is for us to “love the Lord your God with all your heart with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength” (Mark 12:30). And we do that by “presenting our bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God” and by “renewing our mind”. Once we do that we will truly be able to “discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect” (Romans 12). But please ask yourself…. are you willing to do that? Are you willing to love God with everything you have? If you answered yes, then do it. I know it’s risky. I know it requires sacrifice. But go crazy for Jesus! That is the true will of God. (If you want to know more specifics on what exactly that looks like, keep reading on in Romans 12 – or any book of the Bible).

You see, I’m convinced that God doesn’t really care if I am the fastest bobsledder in the world. He cares if I go crazy for him with every ounce of energy I’ve got. He cares that once the pressure strikes I don’t give in, but that I stand firm in my joy for Him. And who knows, maybe He will call me to live out my dreams as a champion bobsledder in the process.

The point is this: God wants to take your average everyday life routine and make it extraordinarily awesome! You don’t have to drive bobsleds or write blogs to be awesome (which is why writing about my adventures is totally over-rated). You simply have to be crazy in love with Jesus as you do whatever it is that you do. Be a teacher, be a mom, be a CEO, be a fireman. It doesn’t really matter, just make sure that you love Jesus. Like really love Him.  He doesn’t say that it will be easy, He doesn’t guarantee that you won’t mess up, but He does promise that it will all be worth it.

One thought on “The will of God?

Leave a Reply

