Pinky

It’s official. I’m horrible at keeping my blog updated… but have no fear, me and pinky have plenty of stories to share. Who is Pinky? She’s my wonderful sled! Pinky was apart of the Bo-dyne bobsled project. Several years ago, NASCAR extraordinaire, Geoff Bodine, built the U.S. Bobsled Team a bunch of bobsleds to help the team become more competitive internationally. Now I’m privileged to get to compete in one of those sleds.

Screen shot 2014-12-17 at 11.24.39 PM

Standing with Geoff Bodine

You may have seen my sled Pinky before. She won a Bronze medal in the 2010 Olympics with Erin Pac and Elana Meyers. Erin Pac named the sled (for the pink flames that it had at one point) and once a sled wins an Olympic medal, it keeps it’s name forever. Therefore, I still call her Pinky. Erin and Elana also had a tradition that you had to wear something pink on race day. I’m happy to be keeping the tradition alive as well.

Screen shot 2014-12-17 at 10.53.17 PM

Erin Pac, Elana Meyers, and Pinky at the 2010 Olympics

Screen shot 2014-12-17 at 10.54.19 PM

Bronze Medal finish!

A year after watching the 2010 Olympics on T.V.,  I went to Lake Placid to try out the sport of bobsled. Guess what sled I hopped in for my very first trip?! Yep – Pinky! Better yet, the driver of that sled was Elana Meyers (who won a Bronze medal in Pinky the year before)!

Screen shot 2014-12-18 at 12.24.37 AM

First day bobsledding… ever!

Then the next season, I made the U.S. National Bobsled Team. Guess what sled I competed in for my very first race?! You got it- Pinky, again!

Team Competition...

Igls Austria World Cup Team Competition with Jazmine Fenlator and Pinky

The coaches decided to let me drive Pinky at the very end of last season (I had only been a brakemen in Pinky up to this point). Go figure, my first trip driving her was on the 3 year anniversary of my very first day bobsledding with her. Moral of the story – I’m crazy excited to be racing with Pinky this season. I don’t know about you, but I feel like its pure destiny.

Curve 10- WC 14

Driving Pinkie down the Lake Placid track

Leave a Reply

