Home

I’m currently on a plane… again. This time I’m headed “home” for Christmas, and after 5 months on the road, I couldn’t be happier. There’s a difference between traveling and doing what ever it is that I do. I don’t know the exact word choice to describe my current lifestyle, but something along the lines of a  nomadic bobsled gypsy would probably do the trick.

When people ask me where I’m from or where I live, I really do not have any answer better than – my suitcase. You see travelers just take a few items on a trip and then return sometime later. When I travel, I’m usually not coming back to that same location for a very long time, so everything I need for a bobsled season must come along with me.

It reminds me of something I learned from my students back when I was teaching and coaching at Augusta Public schools in the Arkansas delta. Most of the staff in the school district commuted in from other areas, so when I first started working there the students would always ask, “Coach, R- where do you stay?” I always responded, “I live in Searcy.”

That simple repetitive conversation taught so much about life. You see they never asked where I “lived”, they always asked where I “stayed”. Most of my students spent their entire lives bouncing around between the projects, or section 8 housing, or from one mom’s boyfriends house to the next. They simply “stayed”.

At first I didn’t understand why they asked where I stayed. Now, I understand. Thankfully I’m under a little different circumstances than my students, but I simply “stay” non the less. I honestly can’t remember the last time I spent more than 2 weeks on the same bed, air mattress, couch, ect.  And it seems I spend most of my free time plotting out where my next dorm room, condo, hostel, or church floor will be and how I’m going to get there.

The cool thing is that there is a much bigger picture here. I now comprehend that heaven truly is my home. Every time I pack up my bags, and I pack them often, I’m reminded that I don’t live here, I don’t live anywhere. I stay different places around the world but my citizenship is in Heaven.

It’s a joy to fully embrace this concept. I don’t feel the need to make a home here on earth -to give everything I have to own a nice house, with a cute dog, and a rad car all in the pursuit of the American Dream. Sure I will most likely have all of those things some day, but that’s not the goal. The goal is to live a life that allows me to experience my true home – heaven. I’m just afraid that we get so distracted by trying to turn the place we stay into a home that we may miss out on our real home. I guess sometimes it just takes innocent children’s questions and life as a nomadic bobsled gypsy to teach us the important things in life.

“For here we have no lasting city, but we seek the city that is to come” -Hebrews 13:14

“But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ” -Phillipians 3:20

Leave a Reply

