Goodbye America!

I haven’t seen my little sister in nearly three years. She lives in Nepal. Yes, I said lives. Shes not visiting the country,  she’s not on a trip, she lives there… indefinitely. She’s practically Asian now. She decided to give up her comfortable American lifestyle along time ago and start a new life in a new country. It all began when she started getting real serious with this guy. Can you believe that she literally dropped everything and moved across the world for this dude?! But, not just any dude. Not the Hindu gods who are worshiped in Nepal, not Buddha (who was born in Nepal), He’s actually this real rad guy (who’s actually from the middle-east) named Jesus. So, I refer to my sister as my little modern day Mother Teresa or Momma B!

Beth Neapl
Well, GUESS WHAT?! I’m going to see my sister! I’m going to Nepal! And I’m going for nearly an entire month! I’m flying out in less than 48 hours, this Easter Sunday!

I’m real excited! But, the fact that I’m actually going hasn’t sunk in yet. I simply feel like I’m going to see my sister as if she still lives in California. But to be honest, I need Nepal, and I need Nepal bad. My goal is not to go over there and think that I am some awesome American who is going to change the life of every Nepali that I come in contact with. Not even close. I’m going over there to learn from every person I come in contact with so that they can change my life. (Except there is one person who I plan to inspire with a big dose of my American awesomeness – my sister!)

Nepal_map

Every bobsledder knows that if you stay in our crazy sport long enough it will change your life. The question is, how is it going to change you? Positive or Negative? I’ve learned a lot of good things and have been blessed with a lot of insane opportunities through bobsledding, but unfortunately it has also changed me in some bad ways. Competition is a fierce thing and it’s brought out the worst in me. It’s shown me sin that I didn’t even know existed inside of me. It’s been hard not to buy into the elite-athlete religion. The religion teaches you to do whatever (and I mean whatever) it takes to win and to give your life to a nearly impossible goal. It causes you to see life through this narrow lens, because if you don’t reach the Olympic Games or obtain Olympic Gold, you are a failure. I know those are lies, but I’m beginning to question if I live like I believe they are lies. The biggest thing I’m starting to notice is that the sport has begun to numb me to a lot of important things. A lot of things that God really seems to care about. Like in the Old Testament when Micah said that God has already shown us what what the definition of good is. Therefore He wants us to fight for justice, to love compassion, and to walk humbly with God [Micah 6:8]. Wow! Justice, Compassion, and Humility are three very foreign concepts in bobsled. Concepts that I fear I am beginning to loose and concepts that I’m going to Nepal to find.

I think that numbness is why my trip hasn’t even sunk in yet. I’m honestly numb to the fact that I’m even going. Obviously I’m really excited to hang out with my sister and go on some crazy adventures that National Geographic will probably even be jealous of. But I also need to see the hard stuff. I need it to slap me in the face and wake me up from the false-reality I’ve been living in. I need to learn from the families who live inside a one room house with a dirt floor, I need to learn from the corruption of the Hindu Cast system and Nepali government, I need to learn from the villages that don’t have a single teenage girl because they’ve all been sold into the human trafficking industry, I need to look the traffickers in the eye and learn what I really need to be fighting for, and I need to feel the sorrow of lands where people have never even heard the name of Jesus.

Stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

